Christine König Galerie


Christine König Galerie was founded in 1989 in Vienna. The gallery represents a variety of internationally recognized artists and works simultaneously with a decidedly younger generation of upcoming artists. The gallery’s program and its selection of the artists reflects the central concerns of Christine König: Politics and activism, feminism, literature, as well as post-conceptual approaches.
In the last decades art has become a dominant field of action and discourse. Visual arts can help develop an understanding for socio-political and cultural processes of change. In a highly stimulating and productive climate, galleries have assumed the role of intermediaries, making a preliminary selection and using their intellectual resources in a responsible way to back and promote certain positions and artists vis-à-vis collectors.
An important focus of the gallery is entering into a dialogue with the public and engaging in art discourse: Until 2006 artists, curators, architects and philosophers talked about their work in weekly Lunch Lectures, since 2008 this tradition has been continued in the CONVERSATION series, taking place in irregular intervals.

Together with three other galleries, Christine König changed its location to Schleifmühlgasse in 1999. Along with Eschenbachgasse and Seilerstätte, Schleifmühlgasse has become one of the central sites for contemporary art in Vienna. The gallery is located in the immediate vicinity of the Secession, Kunsthalle Karlsplatz, Wien Museum, Museumsquartier and Naschmarkt.
KOENIG2 by_robbygreif
opened in 2017 as the gallery's new project space just around the corner of the main space and has as its focus on young and experimental positions. Its main criterion being, that it would invite artists who have never before exhibited in Vienna to create a site-specific installation for the nearly cubical room.

Ever since its founding, the gallery has participated in the leading international art fairs (e.g. ARCOmadrid, artgenève, Artissima, Art Basel, art berlin, Art Brussels, Art Cologne, Art Dubai, cosmoscow, The Armory Show, viennacontemporary). Artists of the gallery are regularly featured in exhibitions such as documenta, Manifesta or the Biennials in Venice, Berlin or Moscow. The gallery has placed works in the collections of the most important Austrian museums (mumok, Albertina, Belvedere, Wien Museum or Museum der Moderne Salzburg), the collections of prestigious international institutions (such as MoMA, Tate Modern, Reina Sofia, Centre Pompidou, Moderna Museet), as well as in numerous private collections all over the world.

Christine König Galerie


Christine König Galerie wurde 1989 in Wien gegründet. Die Galerie repräsentiert eine Vielzahl internationaler, etablierter Künstler und arbeitet gleichzeitig mit einer dezidiert jüngeren, aufstrebenden Generation. Das Programm der Galerie und die Auswahl der Künstler orientiert sich stark an Themen, die für Christine König relevant sind: Politik und Aktivismus, Feminismus, Literatur, aber auch postkonzeptuelle Ansätze.
Kunst ist in den letzten Jahrzehnten zum dominanten kulturellen Handlungs- und Diskursfeld geworden. Mehr als über Popmusik, Literatur oder Film kann über bildende Kunst Verständnis für und Einsicht in gesellschaftspolitische und kulturelle Veränderungsprozesse gewonnen werden. In diesem Klima einer produktiven Aufladung kommt den Galerien die Rolle von Mediatoren zu, die im Vorfeld eine Qualitätsselektion betreiben und über die Mittel und intellektuellen Ressourcen verfügen, ihre Entscheidungen für bestimmte Positionen und Künstler gegenüber Sammlern verantwortungsvoll zu argumentieren.
Ein wichtiger Fokus der Galerie ist die Vermittlung von und der Diskurs über Kunst: bis 2006 gab es die wöchentlichen LunchLectures, bei der Künstler, Kuratoren, Architekten und Philosophen ihre Arbeit vorstellten, seit 2008 gibt es in unregelmäßigen Abständen die Serie CONVERSATIONS.

1999 übersiedelte Christine König mit drei weiteren Galerien in die Schleifmühlgasse und begründete damit – neben der Eschenbachgasse und der Seilerstätte – einen der zentralen Orte für zeitgenössische Kunst in Wien. Die Schleifmühlgasse befindet sich in unmittelbarer Nähe zu Secession, Kunsthalle Karlsplatz, Wien Museum und Museumsquartier.
KOENIG2 by_robbygreif ist seit 2017 der neue Projektraum unweit der Galerie und fokussiert auf junge und experimentelle Positionen.

Die Galerie hat seit ihrer Gründung an den wichtigsten internationalen Kunstmessen teilgenommen (u.a. ARCOmadrid, artgenève, Artissima, Art Basel, art berlin, Art Brussels, Art Cologne, Art Dubai, cosmoscow, The Armory Show, viennacontemporary). Künstler der Galerie sind regelmäßig auf Großausstellungen wie documenta, Manifesta oder den Biennalen in Venedig, Berlin oder Moskau vertreten. Die Galerie vermittelt Werke in die Sammlungen der wichtigsten österreichischen Museen (mumok, Albertina, Belvedere, Wien Museum oder Museum der Moderne Salzburg) und an renommierte internationale Institutionen wie MoMA, Tate Modern, Reina Sofia, Centre Pompidou, Moderna Museet, sowie an zahlreiche Privatsammlungen weltweit.